Thanksgiving Running: When time doesn’t count, but time means everything

The winter marathon has been run. Daylight savings time has arrived to make it more difficult to get out for that evening run. And the holidays are upon us.

November is a tough time for me to take running seriously. It’s when I recover from that 26.2 trek for which I trained all summer and fall. I’ve started going for a few longish runs, but nothing consistent yet. That will come soon enough, when I start gearing up for next year’s 26.2 with Donna on February 23rd  with my Charm City Run training group.  For now, I enjoy easing out into the cold air for an easy run through the neighborhood, leaving the watch behind.

Thanksgiving is usually my last hurrah. There’s food and travel and food and family — and did I say food? Let’s just say, I haven’t generally put Thanksgiving together with healthy diet and serious running. I don’t think I’m the only one to whom that applies.

This year was different. I ran two different races – a Turkey Trot for the Y of Central Maryland on Thanksgiving morning and a 10-mile Turkey Burnoff sponsored by the Montgomery County Road Runners Club on the Saturday after. Both runs were timed, but I can’t tell you how fast I actually ran. I wasn’t running alone, and time wasn’t why we were running. We ran because we wanted to run, and we ran because we wanted to run together. Both women were getting back into running after taking time off. Both were women I love to be with. And we all met our goal of finishing together.

Where and how fast we finished didn’t matter. We had a goal of finishing and we met it. Worrying about net time this weekend was suspended. There will be future races for that.

There is something fundamentally human about running a race with someone else. I somehow become aware of everything around me, from the other runners to the volunteers to the scenery. I smile more. I give away my gloves to the young volunteer holding the 1-mile sign in the freezing cold bare-handed. I cheer the leaders who lap me. I am present to the woman next to me as well as all those running around us.

So this year wasn’t about time goals and pacing and negative splits. But it was still all about time. Time to be thankful for so many things, but most of all for the time I spent with the beautiful women who allowed me to run with them this Thanksgiving.

This entry was posted in Personal observations, Running, sports and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Thanksgiving Running: When time doesn’t count, but time means everything

  1. Carol says:

    Good writing my friend. Enjoy your journey.

  2. Oh, I am SO glad to see you back here! Yay! I am no runner, but I am an avid walker, and I have started, in the past year, walking with three other women. It is totally different, and yes, you do somehow take in more…or at least you take in “differently.” There’s a real sisterhood to it that’s very fulfilling…I gave up my solitary walking begrudgingly, but I haven’t missed it too much. And I have to say, together, we cover more ground with more energy. It’s very interesting how it varies the experience. Love you, Jo…so happy hear from you again!

    • Joselin says:

      Yes, I’ve been so remiss in keeping this up. I need to do a blog on the NYC marathon soon, but it was so overwhelming that I’m having trouble consolidating all the memories and emotions of the day.

      Running is the strangest activity – it’s so solitary and yet can be such an amazingly social time. I’m always happy to hear a woman diving in. In the US, women now make up about 60% of the runners. Even the manufacturers are figuring out the value of women, even the older ones! My wish is that one day you and I will get to go out together. I’m not sure which continent that might be on, but I’ll keep hoping!

Leave a Reply

