Trust Your Training

So the Richmond Marathon is in the books.  It’s a beautiful course with the spectators to justify the “America’s friendliest marathon” moniker, great support, and – perhaps most importantly to some – a downhill finish.

I started the race feeling good, but not overconfident.  One fear almost immediately came true:  the left IT band was not really interested in running a marathon today.  The first 10k was really, really, really painful.  (Did I mention it was really painful?)  My fault for postponing making the appointment with a PT.  Around mile seven, the pain suddenly became bearable.

Then, I managed to somehow lock my Garmin.  Now, I’ve done this before, and usually I make sure that I look up the key combinations needed to unlock it, but for some reason, I didn’t do that today.  So I handed off the watch to my husband, and said, “guess I’m just going to run this one.”

Which gets me to my favorite sign of the day.  “Trust your training.”  What a simple sign – not cutsy, no reference to Chuck Norris – but how very important.  I told the guy holding it that it was exactly what I needed at that moment, and I meant it.  It’s what Katie told me last night, it’s what I told myself this morning, but I just really needed that reminder.

Someone said one time that the way to live is to, “Suit up, show up, and leave the results to God.”  I suited up by training for months, even though it didn’t go the way I wanted.   But I tried to listen to my coach at Charm City Run and make the adjustments that my injury warranted.  And I showed up at the starting line, said a little prayer, and ran.  The outcome would be what it would be.

The lesson and reminder for me today – suit up and show up.  It’s not about the gadgets, it’s not about the mental game.  I have been well trained to run long distances.   Without a fancy watch, I maintained a relatively constant pace for 26.2 miles because that’s what I’ve been trained to do.  I just put one foot in front of the other, and was actually passing people, especially for the last 3 miles.

And now I have to ask the question in other aspects of my life, “where am I not trusting?” Why do I think that I am responsible for the outcomes when I’ve done everything I was supposed to do?

I love to run.  I learn lessons every time I put on my running shoes.  I’m not supposed to be able to run, much less run a marathon.  I just ran a marathon.  So what do I know?

One thing I was reminded today:  Trust your training.

This entry was posted in Personal observations, Running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Trust Your Training

  1. bearrunner says:

    You do have to trust your training… Thats what gets a runner to the finish line! I have a love hate relationship with my Garmin, I find most of the time, I run better without it..

    Cheers

  2. Charlotte says:

    OK. So, I have to say this: I don’t run marathons with my feet, but given that life itself is a sort of marathon, I like everyone else am running one all the time. And I too, at this point in my career, (how old am I, 49???) am just realizing what you are realizing, J. That I have to trust (and relax) in my training. I know what I’m doing. I’ve got lots of experience. I’ve trained for everything I’m trying to do. And I am just now, just now!!!, realizing that I don’t have to panic as my career takes a new and interesting turn: I’m ready for this. Timing is everything, and now, I guess, is our time. Who would have thought. xx

Leave a Reply

