Trust, faith and the marathon — today’s the day!

Now it’s time to simply believe in yourself and trust your body to do what it’s been trained to do.  (Facebook posting from the SunTrust Richmond Marathon)

It’s finally here-race day in Richmond!  After months of training,lots of loops around the track, muddy runs on the trail, long runs in Timonium  and Loch Raven  (up and down the “dam hill”),  a trip to the Under Armour headquarters (thanks UA!),  one broken scaphoid, an annoyingly persistent IT band problem, and travel interruptions, it’s time to put on my running clothes and just run. It’s going to be a beautiful day, on a lovely course with the trees in the height of color, at the “world’s friendliest” marathon.

I won’t be running alone, either.  I’ll bring with me the awesome coaches (especially Ericka) from Charm City Run, all the friends I’ve made in my training groups, my friends and family.  The supportive emails, FB messages and texts (especially from the girls) will all travel te 26.2 miles with me.  The great last email from Shelton, putting the whole thing in perspective.  My friend Katie who will be here on the half marathon course and at the finish line (she’ll have plenty of time to shower, change, and check out of the hotel!)  And then there’s my amazing husband, who will be stalking me on a bike, the ultimate cheerleader.  How can I not be thrilled to be running today?

I was brought back to reality at dinner last night.  My last few runs have been great – it took 4 months, but at last I felt that all the parts were moving together.  While I talked about all the runs were that wasn’t the case, Katie kept bringing back to the ones for which it was.  After one kinesio taping meltdown (sorry, Joe!), I slept pretty well and I woke up ready to do this thing.

Lingering doubts melted away when I popped onto Facebook (who doesn’t at 4:45am?) and saw this post from my friend Kerry.  I remembered that right now, everything is exactly as it should be:

But those who trust in the LORD will find new strength. They will soar high on wings like eagles. They will run and not grow weary. They will walk and not faint. Is 40:31

Let’s do this thing!

This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Trust, faith and the marathon — today’s the day!

Leave a Reply

