…neither by snow nor rain nor heat nor darkness from accomplishing their appointed course with all speed.

I love running in the rain.  That’s a good thing, at least for the last two weeks.  There is something about it that makes me feel like a little kid again.  I can remember just running through the yard with my dogs without a care in the world, soaked to the bone, tired and out of breath when I finally stopped.

I was running yesterday, thinking the rain had stopped for good, when suddenly the skies opened and I was drenched.  I had just split from my running partner, so I was alone to just run.  At first, I was cautious, watching my step and afraid to open up and just enjoy.  When I stopped thinking, I could enjoy the run in a way that is impossible on a bright, sunny day.  My mind stopped racing.  I quit looking at the watch.  I didn’t worry about the hills around the corner.  I felt like I could run all day.  At the end, I even through in some extra hills, just for good measure.

I’m not saying that I want to do it every long run, but just for yesterday, it was just the cleansing restart I needed!  Yesterday, it was rain.  Back in January, it was snow.  Soon it will be heat.  But runners run.  It’s just what we do.

So what’s the life lesson for me?  I’ve already been doing it at work as part of our 5S initiative (we’ve jumped on the “lean” bandwagon).   I need a good deep clean every now and then.  A restart.  A good storm to clear off all the accumulated dust and debris.

I think I would rather be running in the rain.

This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to …neither by snow nor rain nor heat nor darkness from accomplishing their appointed course with all speed.

  1. Shelton says:

    I am glad you posted this, along with the videos, as it looks like there’s a 60 percent chance of rain in Cincinnati this coming Sunday.

    • Joselin says:

      Is it this week??? It simultaneously seems like it’s been forever and that it’s here too soon. You’ll have a great time. Even if it rains, it should be warm. Think of it as an opportunity to keep your body temperature down!

Leave a Reply

