Race day 21Nov2010

It’s been several months of not writing here.  I’m not sure why.  I’ve been training in a totally new territory.  A place where the Baltimore Half Marathon – 13.1 miles – is a step-back, training run.  I’ve had good runs, horrible runs, and great runs.  I’ve run faster at track practice than I thought was possible.  I’ve bonked on a 17 mile run.  And I’ve finished two 20-mile runs feeling good.

All of which leads up to right now.  In Philadelphia.  I’m about to run a marathon.  Yep, 26.2 miles (don’t forget the 0.2-I won’t!).  As I start my pre-race routine, I am feeling really grateful.  Grateful to the people who trained me, trained with me and tolerated me during all the time that has gone into this (especially my husband!)  Grateful to that “something bigger than us” that my neurologist credited with the recent course of my MS.  Grateful to my parents, especially my mother, who never told me I couldn’t, even when they were afraid that that might be true.

It’s all pretty overwhelming.  Want to take any bets on what mile the tears first come?

So after all the strategy-planning, conversations about what to wear/eat/drink, deciding on pace-group vs individual and who’s running with whom, and where to meet before and after the race, now it comes to this.

Just run.

“Keeping my eye on today is about all I’m capable of. And today, I think I’ll go for a run.” John Bingham, “Back to the Future,” Runner’s World

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

