Dreaded Hills

The only way to get through whatever Olympics we’re engaged in is by firing up a sense of humor and pressing on. James Kirkwood

I just finished the Dreaded Druid Hills 10k.  After 5 half-marathons, that shouldn’t feel nearly as impressive as it does, especially given my time (respectable, but not earth-shattering).  After all, I’ve run all the hills but one in that park, how hard could it be?

The answer:  very hard.  I knew at 3 miles when I hadn’t seen the leaders pass me on the way back that I might be in for a bit of a challenge.  I’m not that fast – they are.  I would have seen them in the 2nd mile on a different course.  They showed up not long after that, but the usual bravado that usually radiates from them just wasn’t there.  Uh-oh.

At that point, I decided I needed to start formulating a strategy.  I would continue to run until the turn back up the Dreaded Druid Hill, and then I would walk 2/3 of the uphills until the turn back onto the bowl.  It worked.   In fact, a woman who was running the hills about the pace I could have handled actually finished after me.  I was able to finish strong, passing a couple of people in the last half mile. 

I ran this course as a challenge.  I passed.  And the sick part?  I’ll do it again next year!

This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

