Never settle

The important thing is this: to be able at any moment to sacrifice what you are for what you could become. — Charles du Bos 

 

   

It’s 6am on race day.  I’ve consistently told myself and others that this is a training race, one to learn more about staying steady and focused in a middle distance run.  I ran it last year, and I know it’s a crowded race.  My goal, I’ve said repeatedly, is to beat last year’s time.  Secretly, I have a goal in mind.  Then yesterday at the expo, I ran into some friends who said, “oh, I’m not going all out tomorrow,” and I quickly agreed with them.  
 
As i sit here now, waiting to wake my husband up, I am thinking about some conversations I’ve had in the last couple of weeks.  One was about how the excuses-before-the fact become reality.  If I say I might just bail on a long training run because I’m “just not feeling it,” chances are that I will bail on the run.  The other was a matter-of-fact comment by my spring coach on Tuesday night.  He was reminding me to modify my training because I was running today.  I don’t know what I said, but he simply stated – not opined – that I would have a good run because I was ready.So I’m going to run my race today, and try to not only beat last year’s time, but reach my goal.  I have a reach goal, a realistic goal, and a “I’m going to be not-so-happy-if I don’t reach it” goal.  The weather’s great, I’m rested, and I’m ready to go. 
 
The real lesson:  good is the enemy of the best.  When I give myself the option of  settling, it’ery likely that I will have to settle.  And where’s the fun in that?

 

This entry was posted in Quotations, Running and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Never settle

  1. Charlotte says:

    When are you going to tell us what that goal is? I’m dying to know! Best of luck, Joselin. Though I know luck is not what you’ll need.
    What you’ll need is in your head and heart, and you already have that. xCharlotte

    • Joselin says:

      What? post it on the web??? I’m not THAT confident—

      Now that it’s done, I’ll tell! The reach goal was 1:30:00, the reachable goal 1:33:00 and the “better beat it” was 1:35:00. I did 1:32:56, 7 minutes faster than the same run last year. I’m pretty psyched, actually.

Leave a Reply

